The Department of Engineering has a number of local committees. You can read more about the committees below.

Health and safety committee

The health and safety committee is charged with ensuring that current safety regulations are followed in the department. The tasks include:

  • Follow up on workplace assessment reports
  • Annual status reports
  • Providing safety instructions to new and current staff in the department

It is important to note that all employees are responsible for the working conditions and safety in the department and should report to the representatives if a dangerous situation occurs.

Local working environment committee members

The local working environment committee consists of a chair who is appointed by the head of department, two management representatives, also appointed by the head of department, and one employee representative that is elected.  

Working environment groups

We have three working environment groups: tool shops including the biogas facility, offices and laboratories. Each has at least one employee representative and one management representative.

Research committee

The research committee is a closed forum within the department that serves as a research advisory committee for the Head of Department. The committee discusses topics such as:

  • Strategic aspects of the department’s research strategy.
  • Academic initiatives.
  • Implementation of interdisciplinary engineering programmes.
  • Coordination of large department funding applications.

Members of the research committee

The committee members are senior researchers/associated professors or professors from the four research sections. The Head of Department is a permanent member of the research committee.

Department forum

The department forum is charged with ensuring the development of ideas, quality, transparency and legitimacy of all decisions on academic issues. The department forum is also responsible for ensuring the department's academic and social identity and cohesion.

The department forum discusses issues such as:

  • The department strategy.
  • Thematic discussions on issues of principle.
  • Budget.
  • Recruitment policy.
  • Professor politics.
  • Physical and social environment.
  • Inclusion and development of management structures and forms.

The department forum members

The head of department is permanent member of the forum.

VIP representatives:

Post-Docs/PhD representatives:

TAP/AC TAP representatives:


No representatives



Public sector consultancy committee

The public sector consultancy committee is charged with coordinating public sector consultancy tasks internally and externally as well as with searching for new opportunities to expand the engineering public sector consultancy. The committee draws on research competences throughout the department and, therefore, the most important task of the committee is to ensure alignment of the engineering public sector consultancy with research and education.

Members of the public sector consultancy committee

PhD committee

The PhD committee is charged with ensuring the continuous development and quality of the department's PhD programme in close cooperation with the Graduate School of Science and Technology (GSST).

The tasks include:

  • Ensuring high quality supervision
  • Implementation of regular interviews with the PhD students to ensure progress
  • Evaluation of applications
  • Coordination and execution of qualifying exams
  • Coordination of PhD teaching responsibilities
  • Planning and approval of PhD courses

PhD committee members

The PhD committee consists of members from the permanent academic staff and PhD students, and it is headed by a chairman. The committee is assigned a dedicated secretary to help solve the administrative tasks.

Liaison committee

The liaison committee's work is based on the premise that management is carried out in close dialogue with the employees, and that employees actively contribute to the workplace development.

The committee conducts discussions on workplace conditions such as:

  • Strategy, action plans and goals
  • Personnel policy
  • Budgets
  • Competence development
  • Workplace assessments, mental health and well-being

Liaison committee members

Educations committee

The main responsibility of the educations committee is to develop strong, research based, engineering Master programmes. The committee consists of the director of studies, the degree programme coordinators and the department’s heads of sections:


Degree Programme Coordinators

Heads of Sections



Aside from the overall educations committee, we also have a committee for each of our MSc degree programmes.


Biomedical Engineering

  • Peter Johansen (chair)
  • Preben Kidmose (VIP)
  • Christian Aakjær (VIP)
  • Lars Mandrup (VIP)
  • Preben Kidmose (VIP)
  • Kathrine Kinnerup (student)
  • Astrid Rands Bertelsen (student)

Biotechnology and Chemical Engineering

  • Anders Feilberg (chair)
  • Anders Thyboe Lindhardt (VIP)
  • Menglin Chen (VIP)
  • Edzard Spillner (VIP)
  • Julie Ringtved Gylling (student)
  • Lina Refsahl (student)
  • Kristian Poulsen (student)
  • Rune Popp (student)

Civil and Architectural Engineering

  • Kenny Kataoka Sørensen (chair)
  • Søren Wandahl (VIP)
  • Steffen Petersen (VIP)
  • Esben Rasmussen (student)
  • Jesper Borup Gregersen (student)

Computer Engineering 

  • Qi Zhang (chair)
  • Stefan Hallerstede (VIP)
  • Christian Fischer Pedersen (VIP)
  • Nina Jensen (student)
  • Rasmus Vestergaard (student)


Electrical Engineering 

  • Henrik Karstoft (chair)
  • Martijn Heck (VIP)
  • Farshad Moradi (VIP)
  • Christoffer Mose (student)
  • Kjeld Laursen (student)
  • Hannes Bartle (student)

Mechanical Engineering

  • Lars Bräuner (chair)
  • Henrik Myhre Jensen (VIP)
  • Bo Gervang (VIP)
  • Ole Balling (VIP)
  • Tibor David Majzik (student)
  • Bilial Nedjmedin (student)
  • Cecilie Viborg Nielsen (student)
  • Lasse Frich Dam-Larsen (student)